Steam Greenlight Spotlight – Pirates of the Polygon Sea

Welcome to my Steam Greenlight Spotlight, the place where each week I throw the spotlight on a game currently in the Steam Greenlight process that I think looks good.

In the spotlight this week is… Pirates of the Polygon Sea

What is Pirates of the Polygon Sea?

Pirates of the Polygon Sea is a game all about pirates developed by Praxia Entertainment. Honestly I feel that’s all I need to say. I love pirates. We need more games with pirates. Who doesn’t love pirates?

OK fine I’ll say more. It looks great. I know I say this a lot but Pirates of the Polygon Sea is nice and bright with colour that really pops, just check out how great the sea looks in the trailer (below). The art style is somewhat cartoony and fits perfectly with bright colourful nature.

The aim of the game? Well be a pirate, hunt for treasure, fight other pirates, kill the Kraken, build up your coastal town. You know all the things successful pirates did. What more could you want from a game about being a pirate?

The naval combat looks fun with an element of strategy as you fire broadsides, burning oil, and look to board enemy ships all while trying to sail in figure 8’s like actual naval vessels did. Yeah when I’ve tried that on games like Total War I’ve been awful at it, however it is accurate.

There’s a pretty cool weather system at work as well that throws up storms, creates vortexes etc that make navigating the Polygon Sea tricky. The storms create waves that can smash your ship against the rocks which will suck but its a really nice detail and just adds another layer to the game.

Since I started writing this the game has actually been Greenlit on Steam which is good news and something I’m really excited about. Check out the trailer below and their Greenlight page if you want to learn more.

Check out their Steam Greenlight page

2 thoughts on “Steam Greenlight Spotlight – Pirates of the Polygon Sea”

Leave a Reply

